What is your current task at GLOBALG.A.P.? 

I am currently primarily responsible for Integrity Assessments as part of CIPRO. These assessments are conducted by CB offices as well as to individual producers and producer groups. At the same time, I also carry out trainings with regard to GLOBALG.A.P. IFA, BayGAP, etc. and participate at various GLOBALG.A.P. venues.

I am also involved on the benchmarking process between GLOBALG.A.P. and equivalent/resembling standards, the development and review of normative documents, and the translation and proofreading of all documents in the Greek language. Finally, I also take part in customer support, where I answer queries and follow up complaints.

What is one of the things you appreciate most about your job?

My job has given me the opportunity to visit several different countries around the word. I have met a large number of very interesting people and have learned a great deal from them all – not only with respect to my profession, but also in terms of the many different cultures and ways of life. I only wish I had more time to visit some of the great sights of these countries. For example, when I visited Egypt, particularly Giza, where the pyramids are located, I only managed to get a little glimpse of them from several kilometers away. That really was a shame.    

Tell us a little about your professional background

After completing my PhD, I spent a year and a half in the Greek Air Force during my military service. I then worked for 7 years for a certification body in my country conducting audits on numerous standards such as ISO 9000, ISO 22000, ISO 14000, HACCP, BRC, AGRO and of course GLOBALG.A.P. (then still EurepGAP). At the same time, I was responsible for managing some of the standards (GLOBALG.A.P. and AGRO) and performing trainings and other activities within the CB. I am also registered as an official trainer of the EFET (Hellenic Food Authority). I have now been working for GLOBALG.A.P. for 6 years.

And finally, please also tell us a little about your personal background

I like to spend as much time as I can with family and friends, since the nature of my job means that I am often away. I like sports (to be honest, I prefer watching than doing sports), books and long walks (which is particularly important for stretching after spending long hours in airplanes). I am married and have a five year old daughter.