AMAG.A.P., the Austrian fruit, vegetable and potatoes standard, has become the first scheme to be successfully re-benchmarked against the Integrated Farm Assurance Standard (IFA) Version 5. The AMAG.A.P. normative documents will be published in a few months and will become obligatory in January 2017.

Previously recognized for IFA Version 4, the Austrian Standard offers certification only to individual producers. Currently, there are almost 2,000 producers certified against AMAG.A.P. Version 2012 and benchmarked against IFA Version 4.

AMAG.A.P. is benchmarked as an equivalent scheme. This means their Good Agricultural Practices requirements and certification system are equivalent to GLOBALG.A.P. IFA V5 General Regulations and the Control Points and Compliance Criteria.

Learn more about AMAG.A.P. at 

The Integrated Farm Assurance Standard (IFA) Version 5

The new IFA Version 5 came into force on 1 July 2015 and will be mandatory from 1 July 2016. With respect to stakeholder involvement and impact, IFA V5 has been the most comprehensive standard revision to date, with more than 1,500 comments received and more than 110 organizations actively involved, contributing 2,600 expert hours in meetings and webinars.

GLOBALG.A.P. Benchmarking

One of GLOBALG.A.P.’s main missions is the ‘one auditor through the farm gate’ principle, and benchmarking is how we aim to achieve it. Harmonizing the requirements of different schemes and standards cuts out duplication and takes the complexity out of certification. It reduces costs, administration, time and effort, with producers, suppliers and retailers all profiting from the benefits. And by gaining GLOBALG.A.P. approval, benchmarked schemes and standards also enjoy international recognition - a valuable advantage in the highly competitive global market.

GLOBALG.A.P. offers two levels of benchmarking recognition:

Equivalent: Standards and schemes that fully conform to the GLOBALG.A.P. System (General Regulations GR and Control Points and Compliance Criteria CPCC). There are two types: 

  • Equivalent Scheme: These are schemes with their own G.A.P. and scheme management system that are recognized by GLOBALG.A.P. as fully conforming with the GLOBALG.A.P. CPCC and GR. 
  • Approved Modified Checklist (AMC): These are embedded checklists with their own G.A.P. requirements that are recognized by GLOBALG.A.P. as fully conforming with the GLOBALG.A.P. CPCC. AMCs use the GLOBALG.A.P. General Regulations as scheme management rules for certification.

Resembling: Standards and schemes that conform to the GLOBALG.A.P. System to a large extent, with some exceptions. These standards and schemes may develop add-on modules to bridge the gap and thus enable their producers to obtain GLOBALG.A.P. recognition.

Differences between the two levels are made clear in all GLOBALG.A.P. communication tools (website, database, certificates, etc.). This transparency helps stakeholders determine whether the differences are relevant to them, and so they can make a more informed decision on the acceptance of any resembling scheme.

All benchmarked schemes are listed on the GLOBALG.A.P. website.

Learn more about GLOBALG.A.P. Benchmarking at