naturane is the quality control and food safety system used by Anecoop and its member cooperatives. In 1975, a group of Spanish citrus fruit cooperatives joined forces in order to expand their product range, reach new markets and improve their bargaining power with large-scale distributors.

naturane version 5.0 has been recognized as an approved modified checklist for the sub-scope Fruit & Vegetables against the GLOBALG.A.P. Integrated Farm Assurance Standard (IFA) Version 5. The recognition is the result of a re-benchmarking of the system, which operates only in Spain. Currently, more than 5,000 producers are certified against naturane, mainly in producer groups.

The naturane system takes the concept of total quality a step further and aims to look after the environment. Anecoop’s customers are committed to producing healthy fruit and vegetables that have been grown using minimum amounts of pesticides and chemicals, and well below the legal limits for phytosanitary products. The naturane system covers the entire production process for fruit, vegetables and lettuce.

Learn more about Anecoop at and the link to naturane program

The Integrated Farm Assurance Standard (IFA) Version 5

The new IFA Version 5 came into force on 1 July 2015 and is now mandatory (since 1 July 2016). With respect to stakeholder involvement and impact, IFA V5 has been the most comprehensive standard revision to date, with more than 1,500 comments received and more than 110 organizations actively involved, contributing 2,600 expert hours in meetings and webinars.

GLOBALG.A.P. Benchmarking

One of GLOBALG.A.P.’s main missions is the ‘one auditor through the farm gate’ principle, and benchmarking is how we aim to achieve it. Harmonizing the requirements of different schemes and checklists cuts out duplication and takes the complexity out of certification. It reduces costs, administration, time and effort, with producers, suppliers and retailers all profiting from the benefits. And by gaining GLOBALG.A.P. approval, benchmarked schemes and checklists also enjoy international recognition–a valuable advantage in the highly competitive global market.

GLOBALG.A.P. offers two levels of benchmarking recognition:

Equivalent: Checklists and schemes that fully conform to the GLOBALG.A.P. System consisting of the General Regulations (GR) and the Control Points and Compliance Criteria (CPCC). There are two types: 

  • Equivalent Scheme: These are schemes with their own G.A.P. and scheme management system that are recognized by GLOBALG.A.P. as fully conforming with the GLOBALG.A.P. CPCC and GR. 
  • Approved Modified Checklist (AMC): These are embedded checklists with their own G.A.P. requirements that are recognized by GLOBALG.A.P. as fully conforming with the GLOBALG.A.P. CPCC. AMCs use the GLOBALG.A.P. General Regulations as scheme management rules for certification.

Resembling: Schemes that conform to the GLOBALG.A.P. System to a large extent, with some exceptions. These schemes may develop a supplement to bridge the gap and thus enable their producers to obtain GLOBALG.A.P. recognition as an equivalent scheme.

Differences between the two levels are made clear in all GLOBALG.A.P. communication tools (website, database, certificates, etc.). This transparency helps stakeholders determine whether the differences are relevant to them, so they can make a more informed decision on the acceptance of any resembling scheme.

All benchmarked schemes and checklists are listed on the GLOBALG.A.P. website.

Learn more about GLOBALG.A.P. Benchmarking at